Having a full understanding of the differences in permissions for an Account Owner and Admin vs an Account User will allow both parties to make proper use of the Relay app and avoid potential confusion.

Key Notes to Remember:

  • All aspects of communication will remain the same whether you're a User or an Owner/Admin
  • The permissions/access for Users cannot be upgraded to match that of the account Owner/Admin nor downgraded to prevent access to Location data
  • If you wish to grant an Account User with Account Admin access, you would have to remove the user from your account and then reinvite them as an Account Admin. The same situation applies if you wish to downgrade the permissions for an Account Admin, you would have to remove their profile and reinvite them as an Account User.
  • Account Admins will not be able to edit/delete the profile of the Account Owner

List of Permissions

Owner/Amin Permissions

The Owner of the account will have access to the full suite of features available in the Relay app. They will have the ability to edit and manage Group Chats, Relay device settings, Interactive Channels, Geofences, other profiles on the account, along with activating Relays (Owners only) and inviting new Users.

Any app profile that was previously created by logging in with the account owner's credentials will retain the same permissions as the account owner. If an app profile was created by sending an invite to an individual, then they will be relegated to the permissions of a User.

*Note: As of 12/16/19 the ability to create a NEW app profile via sharing one's account credentials is no longer an option, one must send an invite to add a new User to their account.

User Permissions

Users or individuals who were sent an invite to join an account will have a more limited feature set in the app. Users are unable to manage or adjust anything other than their own app profile, however, they can still view location tracking and geofence information.

*Note: Users cannot authorize any transactions with support and will NOT be privy to any account related information outside of the information that they can see in their app.

The ability to adjust permissions for Users will be available in the coming months


View of In-app differences:

Home Screen

Above you see that the User's home screen is relegated to only the Direct Chats on the account and any Group Chats or Channels that the owner designated to them. They do not have the ability to add a new User/Activate a Relay or Group Chat which is indicated by the plus signs.

Direct Chats

Owners/Admins have access to the "Settings" tab next to "Played" in order to adjust the Settings for a Relay device, along with the option to enable/disable Do Not Disturb. Users only have access to Missed and Played messages, with the inability to enable/disable Do Not Disturb or access the Relay's device settings.

Geofence Settings

Owners/Admins have the ability to add or delete a Geofence by tapping one of the active Geofences and selecting the trashcan icon. Users will not see the delete option when they tap on an active Geofence.

Settings for the Relay App

Owners/Admins have the ability to change the settings for Channels and activate a Relay, Users do not have these two options. Along with this, Owners/Admins can see the permission level for each app user (under Settings when on a Direct Chat)  on the account including their own.


Did this answer your question?