The Direct Chat screen for your Relay offers more than simply the ability to talk to your Relay or leave a message. It grants you the app user with peace of mind knowing that you have the controls needed to effectively communicate and manage your Relay.


Summon 

This feature allows you as an app user to remotely place your Relay in the chat or channel of your choosing. This helps to ensure that you're able to communicate with your Relay regardless of the chat or channel it is on. 

Why Should You Use It?

You may find that the Relay user is not receiving your messages live when attempting to contact them from their Direct Chat, this is due to them being on a different chat or channel then your phone's Direct Chat at the time. The Summon feature will make it so that you are able to pull the Relay into your Direct chat, ensuring that your messages are being played live as opposed to being saved as a Missed Message to be played back later.

Other Use Cases

You also now have the ability to view what chat or channel your Relay is currently on, allowing you to monitor the behavioral use of the Relay user. To do this, you would simply tap on the Settings tab at the top of the page and select "Channels". The following menu will show you the channel the Relay is currently on along with options to switch the Relay to whatever chat or channel you have enabled for the device.

If the Relay user has a hard time changing chats or channel you can now change it for them.

More details regarding the Summon feature can be found here - How to Use the "Summon" feature.

Ring My Relay 

This control grants you the ability to essentially ring your Relay causing it to play an audible tone, vibrate, and flash the LED ring. This will allow you to garner the attention of a Relay user if they have set the Relay down or if you feel as though they are not hearing your messages.

Why Should You Use It?

Though a Relay user having the Relay on them at all times would be ideal, we know that will not always be the case. Just like with your phone, the Relay at times will be set down, and unless it started ringing or vibrating you wouldn't know that someone was attempting to contact you. The same principle applies here, you can ring your Relay after sending a message if you don't receive a reply from the user or ring it before sending a message to ensure that the Relay user is aware that you're attempting to communicate with them.

Other Use Cases

If your Relay has been lost inside or outside of your home you now have a way to help you find it as long as the Relay is online. If you misplaced the Relay inside of your home use the "Ring" option to send an audible ring and vibration to your Relay to help you track it down. 

If your Relay is lost outside of your home and still has a connection, use the "Ring and Locate" option to ring the Relay and pull its current location. Once you know where your Relay is located use the Ring option to help you find it in that area. This option is also useful if you're not getting a response from your Relay and want to confirm that it's located where it should be.

More details regarding the Ring My Relay feature can be found here -  How to Use the "Ring My Relay" Feature (screenshots will differ for beta customers).

Do Not Disturb 

This control allows you to essentially lock down the Relay to where it will not become a distraction for the user at inopportune times.

When this control is enabled, the Relay will be unable to send, receive, or play messages, change channels, play any audible tones, or respond to any normal button presses (SOS is still applicable). However, the Relay will still report it's location and be online if it has a connection.

Why Should You Use It?

If you find that the Relay user is prone to accidental button presses throughout the day you can simply enable Do Not Disturb to ensure that does not happen. This can also help ensure that your Relay stays on your Direct Chat throughout the day, by enabling Do Not Disturb and then summoning the Relay to your chat, that way, once you disable Do Not Disturb they'll already be on your chat. 

Other Use Cases

If you find that your main purpose for Relay is its location-tracking capabilities as opposed to the communication aspect of the service, enabling Do Not Disturb will lock down the communication portion of the service, essentially turning the Relay into just a tracker.

Send Missed Messages to your Relay from its Direct Chat while in this state for them to playback later. All Direct Chat Messages sent to the Relay will be saved as Missed Messages that the Relay user can listen to once Do Not Disturb Mode is disabled.

More details regarding Do Not Distrub can be found here -  How to Use and Enable "Do Not Disturb" Mode (screenshots will differ for beta customers).

Did this answer your question?